Smithy Bridge Primary School

Smithy Bridge Primary School

To achieve, to grow, to smile, to dream

The Governors

The School Governors

In a Foundation School such as ours, the Governors are responsible for the whole management of the school, in all its aspects. They delegate general principles to the Headteacher to follow in determining the day-to-day running and discipline of the school.

The school is accountable to Rochdale BC Education Department, and is open to inspection by the Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED) and the National Audit Office.


Governors’ Information Documents

Governors’ Letters to Parents/Carers


The Governing Body is made up of:

  • 3 Parent governors elected by the parents of the school
  • 3 Co-opted governors
  • 1 LA governor
  • 3 Partnership governors
  • 1 Staff governor
  • The headteacher (ex officio)

The Governors meet twice a term to discuss all school matters. .

Should any parent wish to contact the Chair of the Governors, communications can be left for him, in the school office, and they will be passed on promptly. The Clerk to the Governing Body can be contacted through the school office. The full list of school governors is posted below.


Governor Constitution

The current Chair of Governors is Mr Terry Allen. Vice Chair is Mrs Gillian Price 

The following Governors have resigned from the Governing Board within the last twelve months; Mrs Henna Rauf-Khan, Mrs Rachel Booth,  and Christopher Kolbuck.








Smithy Bridge Foundation Primary School








If Spaces are shown in the table below, this indicates places within the constitution which can optionally be filled.  Where Vacancies are shown this indicates places within the constitution which should be filled.








Nominating Authority

First Appointed

Term Start

Term End


Co-opted governors










Mrs Gemma Hird


24 Nov 2022

24 Nov 2022

23 Nov 2026


Mrs Natalie White


19 Oct 2020

19 Oct 2020

18 Oct 2024














Mrs Antonia Firth 

01 Sept 2023










Local Authority Governors






Mr Terry Allen


13 Mar 2017

19 Jan 2021

18 Jan 2025








Parent governors






Ms Hayley Ashall


23 Feb 2022

23 Feb 2022

22 Feb 2026


Mrs Janet  Edwards


03 Jan 2023

03 Jan 2023

02 Jan 2027












Partnership governors






Mr Stephen Bailey


17 Feb 2023

17 Feb 2023

16 Feb 2027


Mrs Gillian Price


07 Jul 2016

07 Jul 2020

06 Jul 2024


Vacancy (1)












Staff governors






Rebecca Evans


04 Oct 2022

04 Oct 2022

03 Oct 2026












Mrs G Dean School Business Manager
Michelle Mills Clerk


The clerk to the full Governing Body is Mrs Michelle Mills

The school improvement officer is Peter Owen.

Governors can be contacted via their email address: or by letter to the following address.

FAO The Governors
c/o Smithy Bridge Primary School
Bridge North Drive
OL15 0ES

Safeguarding children & Child Protection

At Smithy Bridge Foundation Primary School we feel strongly that the principle of being and staying safe should underpin our approach to the care and education of pupils. All school staff and Governors have a responsibility towards the safeguarding and protection of children.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Safeguarding & Child Protection is Terry Allen. They liaise regularly with Antonia Firth, Headteacher, who is the Designated Safeguarding Lead and report back to the Governing Body.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Looked-After Children is Terry Allen who liaises with Mrs A Firth and reports back to the Governing Body.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Health & Safety is Stephen Bailey who liaises with Mr P Shepherd (Site Manager) and reports beck to the Governing body.

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities

It is the responsibility of the Governors and the Staff of the school to ensure that ALL children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities receive maximum opportunities to develop their full academic, social and personal potential by fostering a caring and supportive environment which utilises all available appropriate resources.

All children, at some time or other in their education, experience a degree of difficulty over some aspect of the curriculum. Smithy Bridge Primary School recognises that children need to be helped over such hurdles and that it should be safe for a child to make mistakes as this is the way we all learn.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities is Hayley Ashall and she liaises regularly with Mrs C Curran (SEND co-ordinator), and reports back to the Governing Body.