The Governors

The School Governors

In a Foundation School such as ours, the Governors are responsible for the whole management of the school, in all its aspects. They delegate general principles to the Headteacher to follow in determining the day-to-day running and discipline of the school.

The school is accountable to Rochdale BC Education Department, and is open to inspection by the Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED) and the National Audit Office.


Governors’ Information Documents

 18 Governor Code of Conduct Autumn 2021.docxDownload
 Declaration of Interest 2019-2020.pdfDownload
 Governor Attendance Academic Year 2018 19.pdfDownload
 Governor Code of Conduct Autumn 2020.pdfDownload
Showing 1-4 of 4

Governors’ Letters to Parents/Carers


The Governing Body is made up of:

  • 3 Parent governors elected by the parents of the school
  • 3 Co-opted governors
  • 1 LA governor
  • 3 Partnership governors
  • 1 Staff governor
  • The headteacher (ex officio)

The Governors meet twice a term to discuss all school matters. .

Should any parent wish to contact the Chair of the Governors, communications can be left for him, in the school office, and they will be passed on promptly. The Clerk to the Governing Body can be contacted through the school office. The full list of school governors is posted below.


Governor Constitution

The current Chair of Governors is Mr Terry Allen. Vice Chair is Mrs Gillian Price 

The following Governors have resigned from the Governing Board; Dr Karthick Kanchi Govarthanam and Jane Shearsmith.


Area Link Governors


Mrs G Dean School Business Manager
Emily Bishop Clerk


The clerk to the full Governing Body is Ms Emily Bishop.

The school improvement officer is Peter Owen.

Governors can be contacted via their email address:
or by letter to the following address.

FAO The Governors
c/o Smithy Bridge Primary School
Bridge North Drive
OL15 0DY

Safeguarding children & Child Protection

At Smithy Bridge Foundation Primary School we feel strongly that the principle of being and staying safe should underpin our approach to the care and education of pupils. All school staff and Governors have a responsibility towards the safeguarding and protection of children.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Safeguarding & Child Protection is Terry Allen. They liaise regularly with Antonia Firth, Deputy Head, who is the Designated Safeguarding Lead and report back to the Governing Body.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Looked-After Children is Terry Allen who liaises with Mr C Crook and reports back to the Governing Body.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Health & Safety is Natalie White who liaises with Mr P Shepherd (site manager) and reports beck to the Governing body.

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities

It is the responsibility of the Governors and the Staff of the school to ensure that ALL children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities receive maximum opportunities to develop their full academic, social and personal potential by fostering a caring and supportive environment which utilises all available appropriate resources.

All children, at some time or other in their education, experience a degree of difficulty over some aspect of the curriculum. Smithy Bridge Primary School recognises that children need to be helped over such hurdles and that it should be safe for a child to make mistakes as this is the way we all learn.

The Governor with specific responsibility for Special Educational Needs and Disabilities is Kara Garforth and she liaises regularly with Mrs D Taylor (SEND co-ordinator), and reports back to the Governing Body.